Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to Collections
60 Minutes : 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export featore. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and more
A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. A project of the Duke University Library. Requires iTunes for viewing video.
Al Jazeera Video
Al Jazeera’s Creative Commons Repository contains broadcast footage that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses.
Alexander Street Press
Several distinct audio and video collections, including: American History in Video; Audio Drama-The L.A. Theatre Works Collection; Dance in Video; Ethnographic Video Online; LGBT Studies in Video; LGBT Thought and Culture; Meet the Press; Music Online (American Song; Classical Music Library; Classical Music in Video; Classical Scores Library; Contemporary World Music; Jazz Music Library; Opera in Video; Popular Music Library; Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries); Silent Film; The March of Time; Theatre in Video; World History in Video; World Newsreels Online (1929–1966)
America at Work, America at Leisure This link opens in a new window
Digitized films depicting work, school, and leisure activities in the United States from 1894 to 1915 are featured in this presentation of 150 motion pictures. Highlights include films of the United States Postal Service from 1903, cattle breeding, fire fighters, ice manufacturing, logging, calisthenic and gymnastic exercises in schools, amusement parks, boxing, expositions, football, parades, swimming, and other sporting events.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting Database
American public radio and television programs dating back to the 1940s; includes interviews and performances by local and national luminaries.
American Black Journal
Video archive of the Detroit Public TV program from 1968-2001. Browse or search and view as streaming video.
American History in Video
Coverage of historic events through documentaries, commercial and government newsreels, and archival and public affairs footage. When finished, will include 1200 titles, 2000 hours of video.
American Indian Film Gallery
More than 450 historic films, dating from 1925-2010, by and about Native peoples of the Americas.
Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound. More than 150 collections and growing.
Film and video archive of The Associated Press, offering global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895.
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity
Boston TV News Digital Archive
Local news stories produced in and about Boston from the early 1960’s to 2000.
Newsreel archive spanning the period 1895 to 1986.
Pathé News (currently, "British Pathé") was a producer of newsreels, cinemagazines, and documentaries from 1910 until 1976 in the United Kingdom.
Films commissioned by the U.S. Government to support the war effort during World War II: by John Ford, William Wyler, John Huston, and Frank Capra's 8-part series Why We Fight. Downloadable MPG files.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's.
C-SPAN Video Library
C-SPAN programs since 1987, covering Congressional proceedings. Many programs aired since 2003 have searchable text transcripts of the program’s closed captioning.
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century, including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Deep Dish TV: Video Archive
Began in the late 1980s as a network, linking independent producers, programmers, community-based activists and viewers who support movements for social change and economic justice. Nearly 200 older documentaries available from the Internet Archive.
Digital Public Library of America
Access thousands of videos from libraries, archives, and museums. To limit to video formats, do a keyword search for topic of interest and then select the "moving images" filter on the results page.
Electronic Arts Intermix, Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
Recognized as one of the largest and most comprehensive resources for video art and moving image media in the world. Spanning the mid-1960s to the present, the full collection features over 3,500 experimental media artworks by 200 artists.
Ethnographic Video Online
Over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork
Collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
The Film Scripts Online Series contains 1,500 film scripts--an exploration of culture and cinema through the decades. This highly structured archive offers a bibliographic and biographical database of directors and writers, along with the full text of the movies themselves. From the earliest silent films through to the present, the cultural attitudes and lifestyles are reflected in the medium. Film Scripts Online: Volume II focuses more on contemporary and international films.
Great Depression Interviews
From the stock market crash of 1929 to the beginnings of World War II, The Great Depression tells the dramatic and diverse stories of struggle and survival during the worst economic crisis in U.S. history. Originally debuted on PBS stations in 1993.
In the Life
The UCLA Film & Television Archive worked with the producers of “In the Life,” the longest running LGBT television news magazine, to create a digital portal to all of their television episodes and some contextual materials.
Internet Archive: Moving Image
Movies from the Prelinger Archive showing American everyday life, culture, industry, and institutions in the 20th century. Downloadable MPEG-2.
Includes over 26,000 videos available. The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
KXAS-NBC 5 News Collection
KXAS was the first television station in Texas and the Southwest when it signed on as WBAP-TV on September 27, 1948. Presented by the UNT Archives, this collection features photographs, video, and scripts from news stories produced by the station during its early years.
Living Room Candidate: A History of Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
See video of presidential campaign commercials from 1952 to 2008. More than 300 digitized commercials are presented, along with analysis, historical background, and results from each election.
The Media Burn Archive is a collection of over 6,000 independent, non-corporate tapes that reflect cultural, political and social reality as seen by independent producers, from 1969 to the present.
Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
The Meet the Press collection makes over 1,500 hours of footage--the full surviving broadcast run from 1947 to present day--available online in one cross-searchable interface. Network television's longest running program--with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates--is available via streaming online video
Mike Wallace Interview (1957-1958)
Video and transcripts of televised interviews of 66 historical figures: from Kirk Douglas, Tony Perkins and Salvador Dali to Eleanor Roosevelt, Margaret Sanger and a young Henry Kissinger.
The Museum of Classic Chicago Television This link opens in a new window
Contributions by Chicagoland broadcast industry professionals, both in front of and behind the camera, documenting local television and Chicagoland coverage.
"Offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization."
Browse archives for episodes by PBS program or by topics such as culture and science. American Experience, Frontline, Nova, Great Performances, Masterpiece, Julia Child, much more.
September 11 News.com
Permanent Internet archive of news coverage of the events of September 11, 2001.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
The database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Socialism on film : the Cold War and international propaganda
"This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba."
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video: Volume I brings together hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video. These definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, have been painstakingly licensed from a wide range of copyright holders. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Video Data Bank TV This link opens in a new window
Launched in 2015, VDB TV is an innovative digital distribution project which provides free, online streaming access to curated programs of video and media art.
Vietnam Center and Archive: Oral History Project
Over 2.7 million pages of scanned materials including "documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids." From the Institute for Modern Conflict, Diplomacy and Reconciliation.
Visual History Archive (VHA)
Repository of Holocaust testimony, as well as testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. Can search remotely but videos may be viewed only on campus. Individual registration required. Works best with IE browser.
WGBH Open Vault
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Currently includes nearly 1 million audio, video, film, and digital assets dating back to 1947.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Online collection of streaming video, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
World Newsreels Online 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places 546 English, French or Japanese with English transcripts.
WSLS-TV (Roanoke, VA) News Film Collection, 1951 to 1971
"Content of the news stories varies greatly from soapbox derbies to civil rights demonstrations. Local affairs and politics, sports, community events and social occasions, and personalities of the Roanoke, Va., region constitute the bulk of the collection. Content also includes a significant amount of coverage of Massive Resistance and the Civil Rights Movement in Virginia. National figures and issues that affected the Roanoke area, such as visits from U. S. presidents and the eradication of polio through vaccination, are also discoverable."