LibGuides: Guide to Online Primary Sources: Australia / Pacific

Australia / Pacific

Australian Newspapers
Search or browse more than 60 newspaper titles. Date coverage varies by title, but inclusive dates are 1803-1954.

China, America and the Pacific
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries including a selection of rare books and manuscripts from the UC San Diego Library's Special Collections & Archives. These include selected rare books from the Hill Collection of Pacific Voyages and manuscript material for the Alaska Commercial Company Records.

China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.

Documenting a Democracy: Australia's Story
Website tells the story of Australia through the documents which gave the national, state and territory governments the right to govern.
Edwin Cook and Susan Pflanz Cook Photographs
Photographs taken by anthropologists Edwin Cook and Susan Pflanz during fieldwork in the Highlands of Papua New Guinea, with the Narak-speaking people of Western Highlands Province. 1961-1972
Harold Scheffler Photographs
Photographs taken by anthropologist Harold Scheffler during field research with peoples of Choiseul, Rendova, Simbo and other islands of the Solomon Islands. The images date from 1958-1961 and 1967-1968.
J. Edward Hoffmeister Films
Sixteen films documenting the cultural life in Fiji and Tonga by geologist J.E. Hoffmeister. 1920-1939
National Archives of Australia
More than 40 million items, including records about military service, immigration, First Australians and much more.
Oceania
Photographs, films and dissertations, documenting aspects of the cultures and peoples of the Pacific Islands, with a strong emphasis on Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. (1919-1989)
Pacific Digital Resources
A gateway to collections of digitized documentary materials relating to the history, culture, and people of the Pacific region.

Pacific Manuscript Bureau
The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau copies archives, manuscripts and rare printed material relating to the Pacific Islands. It is the most extensive collection of non-government primary documentation on the Pacific Islands.

Papua New Guinea Highlands Dissertations
Dissertations and theses, written between 1946 and 2001, documenting social life, customs, history and other topics pertaining to the Highlands Region of Papua New Guinea.
Roger M. Keesing Photographs
Photographs taken by anthropologist Roger M. Keesing during field research with the Kwaio people of Malaita, Solomon Islands. The images document aspects of Kwaio culture. (1963-1989)
Roy Rappaport Photographs
Photographs taken by anthropologist Roy A. Rappaport during fieldwork with the Tsembaga Maring people of Madang Province in the highlands of Papua New Guinea. The images document aspects of Maring culture. (1960-1963)
Sylvester M. Lambert Photographs
Photographs of Pacific Islanders taken by American physician Sylvester Maxwell Lambert. Many images taken in Papua New Guinea, Solomn Islands, Tonga, Vanuatu, Kiribati and Tuvalu. 1919-1939
Tuzin Archive for Melanesian Anthropology
Images and dissertations documenting anthropological and other research in Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and other southwest Pacific Islands.
World Digital Library
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource. Also offers a keyword search box at top of page.