Skip to main content
Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916
"This collection consists of twenty-six films of San Francisco from before and after the Great Earthquake and Fire, 1897-1916. Seventeen of the films depict San Francisco and its environs before the 1906 disaster. Seven films describe the great earthquake and fire. The two later films include a 1915 travelogue that shows scenes of the rebuilt city and a tour of the Panama Pacific Exposition and a 1916 propaganda film."
California as I Saw It: First-Person Narratives of the Early Years
Covers years 1849-1900. Site consists of the full texts and illustrations of 190 works documenting the formative era of California's history through eyewitness accounts.
California Explores the Ocean
Provides access for the citizens of California to a diverse array of resources about the ocean and ocean exploration and to a selection of ocean related photographs and oral histories.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California
Included in this collection on California are ninety-seven titles covering eight cities and regions. These titles comprise tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.
Dust Bowl Migration Digital Archives
Transcripts of oral history interviews with 57 California residents who migrated to the San Joaquin Valley from Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri, and Kansas between 1924 and 1939. Also includes photographs and bibliographies.
Early California Population Project
Access to California's mission registers, including baptism, marriage, and burial records of each of the California missions relating to the Indians, soldiers, and settlers of Alta California from 1769 - 1850. From the Huntington Library.
Edna Watson Bailey Photographs
Photographs collected by Edna Watson Bailey, a graduate student at the Marine Biological Association of San Diego. Subjects include Bailey and members of her family, San Diego, La Jolla, early Scripps laboratory facilities, and the July 25, 1906 wreck of the research vessel Loma. 1905-1940
Kelco Aerial Photograph Collection
A selection of scanned aerial photographs and slides documenting kelp beds and coastline, primarily from Central and Southern California and the Channel Islands. 1931-1992
Los Angeles Times Photographs Collection
Features more than 5000 images that chronicle the history and growth of Los Angeles from the 1920s to 1990.
Missions of Alta California
The missions of Alta California were founded for the purpose of Christianizing the American Indian population in those vicinities. This collection presents images of 19th century records of the missions: Henry Chapman Ford's etchings (1883) and William Henry Jackson's series of albumen photographs (1885-1890).
Online Archive of California*
OAC identifies and provides access to materials such as manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions. Includes detailed finding aids; also images and many digitized texts.
Otay Mesa Detention Center Detainee Letter Collection
Letters written from July 2018- by asylum seekers held at the San Diego, California Otay Mesa Detention Center. "These letters provide insight into the lives of asylum seekers and migrants both before and during detention. Identifying information has been redacted to protect the privacy and safety of the writers."
Rose Institute of State and Local Government
The Rose Institute's California Political History Archive and Database chronicles California's election, redistricting and political history together with biographical information on state legislators and constitutional office holders since 1849.
San Diego History Center Oral Histories
Oral histories that document the rise and decline of the California fishing industry. Transcripts address topics of popular interest such as tuna fishing, lobster harvesting, agar processing, and whaling. 1957-1999
San Diego History Center Photographs
Images that document the rise and decline of the California fishing industry. These historical photographs from the 1870s to the 1980s represent the work of many important San Diego photographers.1880-1980
San Diego Technology Archive
documents the history, formation, and evolution of the companies that formed the San Diego region's high-tech cluster, beginning in 1965
San Fernando Valley History Digital Library
This digital library project focuses on the history of the San Fernando Valley in the 20th Century. Includes more than 2000 photos, maps, illustrations, manuscripts and other images of the valley's past.
Web de Anza
Primary source documents and multimedia resources covering Juan Bautista de Anza's two overland expeditions from the Sonoran desert to northern California.
Use this box to search the web for primary sources. Only collections marked with an asterisk (*) in this guide will be searched.