The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media from the British Library; more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a few from British colonies in the Americas & Asia.
Full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Newspapers in the 19th and early-mid 20th centuries; some later. Many titles include only a few years; others much longer.When complete will have 270 papers from 35 states.
Full text of 6 newspapers: Freedom's Journal (1827-30); Colored American (1837-1841); North Star (1847-51); National Era (1847-50); Provincial Freeman (1854-55); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-52). Some years incomplete.
English-language papers 1690-1876, 700 papers from cities in 24 states east of the Mississippi. Also includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, and Calif Historical Newspapers, 1752-1922. Coverage of each paper from a few issues to many years.
150,000 pages of California newspapers spanning 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).
Digital archive of 23 California newspapers (10 of them forthcoming), 1850-1900. One newspaper until 1922. Some include brief runs of 1-3 years, others cover much longer spans. (part of America's Historical Newspapers database)
Search and read newspaper pages from several states, including California; search a directory (including library holdings) for U.S. newspapers published from 1690-present.
Full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
Search or browse 86 newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 to 1928. Coverage varies. Newspapers come from 46 cities and 34 counties throughout the state. Works best in Internet Explorer.
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
EAN features newspapers from the 1940s to the early 2000s, with over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). More titles will be added over time to expand research into this dynamic region.
The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises 19 out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
The press of more than twenty cities is represented in this collection, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. It provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
The collection comprises out-of-copyright, orphaned content, and includes titles such as Al-Iqbal (Lebanon), Al Akhaa al Watani (Iraq), Tangier Gazette (Morocco) and La Vérité (Algeria). Our access includes runs of five in-copyright titles: al-Akhbār (الاخبار, Lebanon, 2006-2019); al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan, 1967-2000); al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt, 1962-1986); al-Riyāḍ (الرياض, Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996); Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967).
Current titles in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection include:
Al Akhaa al Watani (الاخاء الوطني), Iraq, Arabic, 1931-1963
Al Akhbar (الأخبار), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Akhbar (الأخبار), Lebanon, Arabic, 1958-1972
Al Balad (البلد), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Fayha (الفيحاء), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Hawadith (الحوادث), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Insha (الانشاء), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Islah (الإصلاح), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1959
Al Jabal (الجبل), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Tarbiyah (التربية), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al-Iqbal (الإقبال), Lebanon, Arabic, 1902-1909
Asa Al Jannah (عصا الجنة), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Attakaddoum (التقدم), Algeria, French/Arabic, 1923-1931
Baghdad News, Iraq, English, 1964-1967
Baghdad Times, Iraq, English, 1918-1923
Dou-El-Fakar (ذو الفقار), Algeria, Arabic, 1913-1914
El Farouk (الفاروق), Algeria, Arabic, 1913-1921
El-Mountakid (المنتقد), Algeria, Arabic/French, 1925
La Vérité, Algeria, French/Arabic, 1934-1935
Tangier Gazette: Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa & Morocco, Morocco, English, 1927-1933
Tangier Gazette and Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa, Morocco, English/French, 1949-1950
Tangier Gazette and Morocco Mail, Morocco, English, 1934-1940
Tarik Al Jihad (التربية), Syria, Arabic, 1950
The Iraq Times, Iraq, English/Arabic, 1948-1964
Times of Mesopotamia, Iraq, English, 1921-1924
New titles will continue to be added to the collection, which will ultimately include over thirty newspaper titles and approximately 500,000 pages of content.
The South Asian Newspapers collection chronicles conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in the region. It covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more.
The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.
Collection of local, regional, and national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers. Also includes anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic and Jewish organizations.
Nearly 300 Spanish-language newspapers from 13 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. Browse by title, time period, or geographic area.
Includes 10 papers from Europe, North Africa, Palestine/Israel, in English, French and Hebrew; 3 as early as 1860s; 6 through 1930s/40s. Palestine Post, Bulletin de l'Alliance Israelite Universelle, Ha-Levanon, L'Avenir Illustre, Ha-Magid, Paix & Droit, etc.
Offers access to many digitized newspapers from the U.S. and around the world. Note that only newspapers without the dollar icon ($) are freely available.
Discover North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries with this major digital resource. Featuring publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
1931-present. More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time
Searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. When finished will include 35 newspapers from the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. Part of the World Newspaper Archive.
London Times
See Times Digital Archive and Palmer's Full Text Online.
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century
Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.
Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993). Click top "Publications" tab for title list.
Cover to cover article text & page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991). Click top "Publications" tab for title list.
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.
Partisan newspaper editorials on the Nebraska bill debates; Dred Scott; John Brown's Raid on Harper's Ferry; and the attack on Massachusetts Senator Charles Sumner by South Carolina representative Preston Brooks.
Searchable full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images. Does not include the Sunday Times or supplements.
India's most prominent and widely circulated English-language daily, with continuous coverage from 1831-2001. Fully searchable, with cover-to-cover images of each page.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to current content and significant archives dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
Historical digitized newspapers from Utah, mostly late 1800s to the early 1900s, with more than 130,000 pages of text. Browse or search and view images of articles.
